Winchendon August Sales Show Wide Price Gap Amid Sparse Disclosures
WINCHENDON -- Twelve properties in Winchendon recorded deed transfers over the four-week period ending Sept. 12, but all 12 deeds were recorded within a three-day span in mid-August, and only two of them listed a sale price in Worcester County Registry of Deeds records.
MARKET OVERVIEW Of the 12 recorded deeds, two disclosed a sale price: $350,000 and $1,968. Based on those two figures, the overall price range for the period runs from $1,968 to $350,000, with a median of $175,984. Because only 2 of 12 transactions list a price, that range and median reflect a small fraction of the period's recorded activity rather than the broader market. Twelve total transactions represents a moderate count of recorded deeds for a one-month window, but with 10 of them lacking disclosed pricing, the underlying dollar volume and true market tone cannot be determined from the available data. Notably, all 12 deeds carry recorded dates of Aug. 17, 18 or 19, meaning no deed activity was logged in this dataset for the roughly three and a half weeks between Aug. 20 and Sept. 12.
TOP SALES The month's highest-priced recorded transaction was a $350,000 sale in Winchendon, recorded Aug. 19. Sellers Mark C. Williams and Amanda Williams transferred the property to buyers John Keefe and Madilynn Keefe. The deed record for this transaction did not include a street address.
The only other transaction with a disclosed price was a $1,968 deed at 25 North Vine St., recorded Aug. 17. Kevin Burgess is listed as seller and LVNV Funding LLC, a debt-collection firm, as buyer. The low dollar figure and the identity of the buyer indicate this deed reflects a debt or lien matter rather than a conventional home sale, though the deed record does not specify the nature of the underlying transaction.
The remaining 10 recorded deeds, covering properties at 34 Emerald St., 188 Baldwinville Road, 414 Front St., 257 Main St., 38 Mill Glen Road, 45 Town Farm Road, 246 Metcalf St., 15 Juniper St., 106 Converse Drive and 50 East St., did not list a sale price. Price not disclosed for all 10.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN The 12 sales were spread across 12 different streets, and no two transactions in this dataset shared a street name. Grouped by price tier where data allows, two transactions fall under $500,000 based on disclosed pricing, the $1,968 deed and the $350,000 sale. The price tier of the remaining 10 transactions cannot be determined because no sale price was disclosed for any of them.
MARKET NOTES Three of the 12 deeds, covering 188 Baldwinville Road, 38 Mill Glen Road and 246 Metcalf St., list Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. as seller, with Total Mortgage Services LLC and Rocket Mortgage LLC, the latter twice, listed as buyer. That pattern is consistent with lender-to-lender or servicer transfers rather than sales to individual buyers, though the deed data does not specify whether these followed foreclosure proceedings. A fourth deed, at 414 Front St., lists U.S. Bank Trust NA Tr and New Roots N Trust as buyer, with no seller listed in the available record.
Three separate deeds list a seller surnamed Williams: Mark C. Williams and Amanda Williams on the $350,000 sale, Mark C. Williams alone on the 257 Main St. transfer, and Joseph A. Williams on the 50 East St. transfer. The records do not indicate whether these transactions are related, and no motivation for any transfer can be determined from deed data alone.
Beds, baths and square footage are not available in Worcester County deed records and are omitted from this report. Property type, such as single-family, condominium or multi-family, is likewise not specified in the available data for any of the 12 transactions.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | 25 North Vine St | Burgess Kevin | Lvnv Funding LLC | $1,968 |
| Aug 17 | 106 Converse Dr | Cutler Nicole | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 17 | 50 East St | Williams Joseph A | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 18 | 38 Mill Glen Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Rocket Mortgage LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 18 | 45 Town Farm Rd | Miscavage Stephanie; Miscavage Randall | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 18 | 246 Metcalf St | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Rocket Mortgage LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 18 | 15 Juniper St | Favreau Neil; Favreau Brian Neil | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 19 | (no address) | Williams Mark C; Williams Amanda | Keefe John; Keefe Madilynn | $350,000 |
| Aug 19 | 34 Emerald St | Higgins Rebecca L; Higgins David K | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 19 | 188 Baldwinville Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Total Mortgage Services LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 19 | 414 Front St | U S Bank Trust Na Tr.; New Roots N Trust | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 19 | 257 Main St | Williams Mark C | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.