Spencer Records Ten Property Sales in August With Just One Price Disclosed
SPENCER -- Ten properties changed hands in Spencer between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5, according to deeds recorded at the Worcester County Registry of Deeds, but only one of those transactions disclosed a sale price, leaving most of the month's activity undocumented in dollar terms.
MARKET OVERVIEW Ten sales were recorded during the period. Of those, only one listed a consideration amount: $25,000. Because that is the only disclosed price, it also stands as the reported price range (low to high) and the median for the month. Nine of the 10 recorded deeds listed no sale price, which the registry treats as normal for certain deed types but which limits how much can be said about overall market pricing this period. By raw count, 10 recorded transfers over four weeks indicates the month was active in terms of deed volume, though price trends cannot be assessed given the lack of disclosed figures for 90% of transactions.
TOP SALES The only transaction with a disclosed price was a $25,000 sale recorded Aug. 11, with no street address specified in the deed. The seller was listed as Alberto Raul Vazquez and Valerie N. Rossy; the buyer was listed as Norwich Commercial Group Inc. and TPOGO. Beds, baths and square footage were not available from the deed record.
The remaining nine transactions recorded during the period did not disclose a sale price and cannot be ranked by value. They involved the following addresses: 24 Cherry St. (recorded Aug. 12), 44 Clark St. (Aug. 11), 505 Main St. (Aug. 10), 5 Old Meadow Rd. (Aug. 10), 97 East Charlton Rd. (Aug. 10), 2 Sherwood Dr. (Aug. 7), 6 Woodland Ln. (Aug. 7), 29 Pearl St. (Aug. 7) and 65 Oakland Dr. (Aug. 7).
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN No two sales during the period shared a street name, so no street-level clustering is evident in the data. Because sale prices were disclosed for only one of the 10 transactions, a price-tier breakdown is not meaningful for this period; the single disclosed sale, at $25,000, is the only figure available for comparison. The nine remaining transactions were distributed across Cherry, Clark, Main, Old Meadow, East Charlton, Sherwood, Woodland, Pearl and Oakland, with one transaction per street.
MARKET NOTES Several deeds in the period involved lenders or mortgage-related entities as parties, including LoanCare LLC, Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., Webster First Federal Credit Union and Guild Mortgage Co. LLC, at 505 Main St., 97 East Charlton Rd., 5 Old Meadow Rd. and 29 Pearl St., respectively. The data does not indicate the reason for these transfers.
Three deeds appear to involve transfers within the same family or into a trust structure rather than a sale to an unrelated buyer: at 44 Clark St., James W. Garlington Tr. and Susan H. Garlington Tr. are listed as sellers; at 2 Sherwood Dr., the seller is listed as Ricardo Justin Varella and Ricardo J. Varella; and at 65 Oakland Dr., sellers Pamela A. Price and Thomas M. Price transferred to buyers Thomas M. Price Tr. and Pamela A. Price Tr. The deed data does not specify the purpose of these transfers.
Bed, bath and square footage figures were not available for any of the 10 transactions, and property type (single-family, condominium or multi-family) was not specified in the deed data provided.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 7 | 2 Sherwood Dr | Varella Ricardo Justin; Varella Ricardo J | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 7 | 6 Woodland Ln | Friedberg David F; Costagliola Thomas J | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 7 | 29 Pearl St | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Guild Mortgage Co LLC | Guild Mortgage Co LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 7 | 65 Oakland Dr | Price Pamela A; Price Thomas M | Price Thomas M Tr.; Price Pamela A Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 505 Main St | Richardson Cedric L; Loancare LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 10 | 5 Old Meadow Rd | Webster First Federal Credit Union; Shields Adam | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 10 | 97 East Charlton Rd | Armstrong Jared L; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 11 | (no address) | Vazquez Alberto Raul; Rossy Valerie N | Norwich Commercial Group Inc; Tpogo | $25,000 |
| Aug 11 | 44 Clark St | Garlington James W Tr.; Garlington Susan H Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 12 | 24 Cherry St | Toomey Marcia; Kowal Roger E | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.