Southbridge Deed Filings Show $246,000 to $520,000 Price Spread
Worcester County Registry of Deeds records show 10 property transfers recorded in Southbridge between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5, but only three disclosed a sale price, ranging from $246,000 to $520,000 with a median of $445,000. The top transaction was 83 Pine St. at $520,000, involving Mortga…
SOUTHBRIDGE -- Ten property transfers were recorded in Southbridge between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5, but only three listed a sale price, ranging from $246,000 to $520,000. The rest of the filings, largely involving banks, mortgage servicers and one family trust, did not disclose consideration amounts.
MARKET OVERVIEW
Worcester County Registry of Deeds records show 10 recorded transactions in Southbridge during the period. Of those, three disclosed a sale price: $246,000, $445,000 and $520,000, producing a median of $445,000. Seven of the 10 filings listed no price. With disclosed pricing available for less than a third of recorded transactions, the raw count of 10 does not by itself indicate whether the period was active or quiet; deed volume alone, without price data for most entries, offers limited insight into overall market strength.
TOP SALES
The highest-priced transaction was 83 Pine St., which sold for $520,000 on Aug. 10. The seller was listed as BRC Investment Group LLC and the buyers as Northpoint Mortgage Inc. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc.
320 Alpine Dr. sold for $445,000 on Aug. 10. Sellers Erika Boucher and Erika Carlson transferred the property to buyers Steve George Chivallatti and Amanda Chivallatti.
A third transaction, recorded at an unspecified Southbridge address, sold for $246,000 on Aug. 10. The sellers were listed as Steve George Chivallatti and Amanda Chivallatti, and the buyers as United Wholesale Mortgage LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc.
The remaining seven recorded transfers did not disclose a sale price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Two streets each had two recorded transfers this period. Charlton Street saw filings at 668 Charlton St. (seller Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., buyer Onslow Bay Financial LLC) and 121 Charlton St. (sellers Operative Bank and Savers Bank, no buyer listed); neither disclosed a price. Old North Woodstock Road also had two filings, at 46 Old North Woodstock Rd. (seller Janice A. Tortis and Janice A. Tortis, trustee) and 42 Old North Woodstock Rd. (seller Janice A. Tortis, buyer Janice A. Tortis, trustee); both are within-family trust transfers and neither disclosed a price.
The remaining transactions were single filings on separate streets: 406 Main St., 60 Optical Dr., 259 Mechanic St., 320 Alpine Dr., 83 Pine St. and the unspecified Southbridge address. Of the three disclosed sale prices, one fell in the $500,000-and-above tier (83 Pine St.) and two fell under $500,000 (320 Alpine Dr. and the unaddressed $246,000 sale).
MARKET NOTES
Several of the period's filings involved Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. as either grantor or grantee, including the top-priced sale at 83 Pine St. and the $246,000 filing tied to the Chivallatti name. Deed records naming MERS typically reflect mortgage-related recordings rather than a traditional owner-to-buyer property sale, meaning some of this period's disclosed dollar figures may represent loan transactions rather than open-market home purchases.
Bank and lending entities also appear as sellers or grantors in several filings without a listed buyer or price, including 121 Charlton St. (Operative Bank, Savers Bank), 406 Main St. (Time Investment Co Inc.) and 259 Mechanic St. (Pentagon Federal Credit Union). Deed records do not indicate whether these reflect foreclosure activity.
No bedroom, bathroom or square-footage data was available for any of the 10 filings, so no price-per-square-foot comparison could be made. The dataset does not distinguish property type (single-family, condominium or multi-family) for any address listed.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 7 | 406 Main St | Haggerty Brian; Time Investment Co Inc | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 7 | 60 Optical Dr | Webster Five Cents Savings Bank | Caliber Rural Bridge LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 7 | 46 Old North Woodstock Rd | Tortis Janice A; Tortis Janice A Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 7 | 42 Old North Woodstock Rd | Tortis Janice A | Tortis Janice A Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 7 | 259 Mechanic St | Pentagon Federal Credit Union; Khuu Tracy | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 83 Pine St | Brc Investment Group LLC | Northpoint Mortgage Inc; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $520,000 |
| Aug 10 | 320 Alpine Dr | Boucher Erika; Carlson Erika | Chivallatti Steve George; Chivallatti Amanda | $445,000 |
| Aug 10 | (no address) | Chivallatti Steve George; Chivallatti Amanda | United Wholesale Mortgage LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $246,000 |
| Aug 10 | 668 Charlton St | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Onslow Bay Financial LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 10 | 121 Charlton St | Operative Bank; Savers Bank | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.
Share this story
Know someone in Worcester County who follows town government? Share Townbrief Worcester County: they can sign up free.