Only Two of 12 Auburn Property Transfers Disclose a Sale Price
AUBURN -- Twelve property transfers were recorded in Auburn between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, according to Worcester County Registry of Deeds records, but only two of those transactions disclosed a sale price, limiting what can be concluded about the town's broader market during the period.
MARKET OVERVIEW Registry records show 12 total transfers for the period. Of those, two listed a disclosed consideration amount: $200,000 and $265,000, for a price range of $200,000 to $265,000 and a median of $232,500. With only two of 12 sales carrying disclosed prices, the raw count of 12 transfers does not by itself indicate whether the period was active or quiet; most of the recorded transactions were transfers involving lenders or mortgage-related entities rather than disclosed arm's-length sales.
TOP SALES The highest-priced disclosed transaction was 638 Oxford St. S, which sold for $265,000 on Aug. 14. The seller was listed as Robert Edward Fogwell (also recorded as Robert E. Fogwell), and the buyer was Mutual of Omaha Mortgage Inc., with Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. also named on the deed. The second disclosed sale was a property listed only as "Auburn, MA" that sold for $200,000 on Aug. 14. The seller was listed as Brendan M. Sullivan (also recorded as Brendan Sullivan), and the buyer was Webster First Federal Credit Union. The remaining 10 recorded transfers, at 28 Millbury St., 67 Pakachoag St., 5 Rice Rd., 31 Manor Rd., 9 Perry Pl., 9 Perry Pl. Unit 9, 24 Curtis St., 1 Barbara Ave., 5 South Ter. and 38 South St., did not disclose a sale price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN No street had more than one address with a disclosed price, so a price-tier breakdown by street is not possible from the available data. One geographic pattern stands out: 9 Perry Pl. and 9 Perry Pl. Unit 9 both appear in the period's records, meaning the same address saw two separate recorded transfers, one for the main property and one for a condominium unit. Beyond that, the 12 transfers were spread across 11 different streets, including Oxford Street South, Millbury Street, Pakachoag Street, Rice Road, Manor Road, Perry Place, Curtis Street, Barbara Avenue, South Terrace and South Street, with no other street repeating.
MARKET NOTES The deed data shows a heavy presence of lending institutions as either grantor or grantee across the period's transfers. Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. is named in four separate transactions (638 Oxford St. S, 67 Pakachoag St., 31 Manor Rd. and 5 South Ter.), and other transfers list Webster First Federal Credit Union, Central One Federal Credit Union, Unibank for Savings, Movement Mortgage LLC, Amerisave Mortgage Corp., Stearns Bank N.A., NewRez LLC, Bank of America N.A. and Mutual of Omaha Mortgage Inc. as parties. That pattern means the majority of this period's recorded transfers involved a bank, credit union or mortgage servicer on one side of the deed, rather than a disclosed sale between two private parties. The registry data also shows one family or same-name transaction: Brendan M. Sullivan (also listed as Brendan Sullivan) appears as seller on both the undisclosed-price "Auburn, MA" listing and on 9 Perry Pl. Unit 9, and Sally I. Sullivan appears as seller on 9 Perry Pl. Separately, 24 Curtis St. was transferred from the Carolynn F. Anderson Trust to Carolynn F. Anderson as trustee, a within-family trust transfer. No motivation for either pattern is indicated in the deed data. No sale price was disclosed for enough of the 12 transactions to break out price-per-square-foot figures or a single-family-versus-condominium price comparison, as square footage and bedroom/bathroom counts are not part of the deed record.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 14 | 638 Oxford St S | Fogwell Robert Edward; Fogwell Robert E | Mutual Of Omaha Mortgage Inc; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $265,000 |
| Aug 14 | (no address) | Sullivan Brendan M; Sullivan Brendan | Webster First Federal Credit Union | $200,000 |
| Aug 14 | 28 Millbury St | Imperial Distributors Inc; Unibank For Savings | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 67 Pakachoag St | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Amerisave Mortgage Corp | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 5 Rice Rd | Central One Federal Credit Union; Sjogren Karin L | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 31 Manor Rd | Movement Mortgage LLC | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 9 Perry Pl | Sullivan Sally I | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 9 Perry Pl Unit 9 | Sullivan Brendan M; Sullivan Brendan | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 24 Curtis St | Carolynn F Anderson Trust; Anderson Carolynn F Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 1 Barbara Ave | Stearns Bank Na; Bolivar Danny D | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 5 South Ter | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Newrez LLC | Bank Of America Na | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 38 South St | Rotatori Cassandra; Rotatori Anthony | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.