Only Two of 11 Blackstone Deeds Recorded a Sale Price in August
Blackstone recorded 11 property deed transfers between July 31 and August 29, but only two disclosed a sale price: $724,375 for 53 Farm St. and $76,191 for 170 Lakeshore Dr., yielding a median of $400,283 from those two figures. Blackstone Street saw two transfers, at 197 and 340 Blacks…
BLACKSTONE -- Eleven property transfers recorded at the Worcester County Registry of Deeds between July 31 and August 29, but only two carried a disclosed sale price, limiting what the month's data can say about the local market. The disclosed sales ranged from $76,191 to $724,375.
MARKET OVERVIEW
The registry recorded 11 deed transfers in Blackstone during the period, but only two of them, or roughly 18 percent, included a disclosed consideration amount. Those two prices ranged from $76,191 to $724,375, with a median of $400,283 based on the midpoint of the two disclosed figures. Because 9 of the 11 transfers list no sale price, a pattern common in deed data involving lender and trust transactions, the raw count of 11 recorded transfers does not by itself indicate whether the sales month was active or quiet; the price data available is too thin to characterize market tone.
TOP SALES
53 Farm St. sold for $724,375 on July 31, the highest disclosed price of the period. Jessica A. Guy was the seller; Newrez LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. were listed as buyers.
170 Lakeshore Dr. sold for $76,191 on July 31, the only other transaction with a disclosed price. Samuel R. Maxwell Jr. and June Maxwell were the sellers; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. and Operative Bank were listed as buyers.
No other transfers in the period included a disclosed sale price. Bed, bath and square-footage figures were not available from the deed records for any property.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Blackstone Street saw two transfers in the period: 340 Blackstone St. on August 3 and 197 Blackstone St. on July 31. Neither disclosed a price. No other street had more than one recorded transfer.
By price tier, the only two disclosed sales fall on opposite ends of the spectrum: 170 Lakeshore Dr. at $76,191 sits under $500,000, and 53 Farm St. at $724,375 sits over $500,000. The remaining nine properties, on Liberty Hill Drive, Union Street, Milk Street, Blackstone Street (two addresses), Ingrid Drive, Mendon Street and Main Street, along with one transfer listing no street address, cannot be sorted by tier because no price was recorded.
MARKET NOTES
Most of the month's recorded transfers involved mortgage-servicing or banking entities as either buyer or seller, rather than a typical owner-to-owner sale. Newrez LLC, Wells Fargo Bank NA, Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., Rocket Mortgage LLC, Goldman Sachs Mortgage Co. and US Bank Trust NA appear as parties on six of the 11 deeds, including the 53 Farm St. and 170 Lakeshore Dr. transactions that carried disclosed prices. That pattern is consistent with loan-servicing or lender-related transfers, though the deed data does not specify the nature of each transaction.
One transfer, at 340 Blackstone St. on August 3, moved the property from Douglas A. Melvin and Karen L. Melvin to Douglas Andrew Melvin, trustee, and Karen Lee Melvin, trustee, a within-family transfer into a trust. The deed data does not indicate the reason for the transfer.
A separate entry recorded August 4 listed no street address and transferred property from Wilder Diaz and Natacha Diaz to Massachusetts Electric Co. and Verizon New England Inc. Given the buyers and the absence of a listed address, this record likely reflects a utility easement rather than a residential property sale, though the deed data does not specify.
With price data available for only two of 11 recorded transfers, this month's roundup cannot support broader conclusions about pricing trends, property-type mix or per-square-foot values in Blackstone. Readers seeking a fuller picture of local price trends should note that most recorded deeds in this period did not include consideration amounts.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 31 | 53 Farm St | Guy Jessica A | Newrez LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $724,375 |
| Jul 31 | 170 Lakeshore Dr | Maxwell Samuel R Jr.; Maxwell June | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Operative Bank | $76,191 |
| Jul 31 | 197 Blackstone St | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Hudak Charlene M | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 56 Mendon St | Janci Margaret; Bachtold Matthew | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 66 Main St | Wells Fargo Bank Na; Hullar Paul H | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 340 Blackstone St | Melvin Douglas A; Melvin Karen L | Melvin Douglas Andrew Tr.; Melvin Karen Lee Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 3 | 5 Ingrid Dr | Goldman Sachs Mortgage Co; Newrez LLC | Us Bank Trust Na Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 4 | (no address) | Diaz Wilder; Diaz Natacha | Massachusetts Electric Co; Verizon New England Inc | Not disclosed |
| Aug 4 | 19 Union St | Newrez LLC | Wells Fargo Bank Na | Not disclosed |
| Aug 4 | 14 Milk St | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Rocket Mortgage LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 5 | 10 Liberty Hill Dr | Abbondanza Alfred J; Abbondanza Elizabeth A | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.
Share this story
Know someone in Worcester County who follows town government? Share Townbrief Worcester County: they can sign up free.