Colton Lane Sale at $700,000 Only Priced Deal in August Batch
Shrewsbury recorded 14 property transfers between July 31 and Aug. 29, but only one deed disclosed a sale price: $700,000 for 8 Colton Lane, sold by trustees Michael and Stephen McLaren to Patrick and Michelle O'Leary. With price data limited to a single transaction, no meaningful price…
SHREWSBURY -- Fourteen property transfers were recorded at the Worcester County Registry of Deeds for Shrewsbury between July 31 and Aug. 29, but only one deed disclosed a sale price, leaving most of the month's market activity undocumented in dollar terms.
MARKET OVERVIEW
The registry recorded 14 property transfers in the period, all dated July 31, 2026. Of those, only one deed, for 8 Colton Lane, listed a sale price: $700,000. With price data limited to a single transaction, the recorded range and median both stand at $700,000, that is, the price range and the median are identical because only one figure exists to calculate from. The other 13 deeds list no consideration amount, which is common for certain deed types, including trust transfers, foreclosure and bank-related conveyances, and family transfers. Based on the raw count alone, 14 recorded transfers in roughly a month is a moderate volume for a town of Shrewsbury's size, though the near-total absence of price data makes it impossible to assess whether values are rising, falling or holding steady this period.
TOP SALES
8 Colton Lane sold for $700,000. The sellers were Michael McLaren and Stephen J. McLaren, as trustees; the buyers were Patrick O'Leary and Michelle O'Leary. Bed, bath and square footage figures were not available from the deed record.
No other transaction in this period had a disclosed sale price, so no additional sales can be ranked by value. The remaining 13 recorded transfers, listed below by street, involved banks, credit unions, trusts and individual sellers and buyers, but consideration amounts were not part of the public deed record for any of them.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Two streets saw more than one recorded transfer in the period. Oak Street had two transfers: 278 Oak St., from Satyam R. Koppu as trustee to Satyam R. Koppu individually, and 474 Oak St., from Shrewsbury Federal Credit Union to Bruce E. Anderson. Lake Street also had two: 542 Lake St. Unit A, involving Eastern Bank, and 30 Lake St., from Bank of America NA to First American Mortgage Solutions LLC.
Two additional properties, 51 Reed St. and 51 Reed Rd., both involved members of the Albin family: Melissa Albin to Jeffrey Albin at one address, and Kurt J. Albin to Christine Albin at the other. The similarity in street names and shared surname make this the closest thing to a clustered pattern in the data, though the deed records do not indicate whether these are related transactions.
Two records for 21 Stonybrook Lane and 21 Stoneybrook Lane, spelling variants of the same street, show Angela M. Lombard and Ronald L. Lombard Jr., both listed as trustees, as seller and buyer in reversed order between the two entries. A separate pair of transfers, one with no specific street address and one at 9 Golden Hill, both involve Dale B. Ward, individually and as trustee, alongside an entity called Golden Hill Trust. These seven transactions represent trust-to-individual or reciprocal trustee transfers rather than sales to outside buyers; the deed records do not disclose the reason for the transfers.
The remaining transfers, at 17 Shirley Road (Traders Trust Co. to Gina M. Oslowski) and 23 Kenilworth Road (BrightBridge Credit Union to Robert C. Stevens Jr.), along with 47 Orchard Meadow Drive (Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. to Finance of America Reverse LLC), did not share a street with any other recorded sale in the period.
MARKET NOTES
Of the 14 recorded transfers, several involved banks, credit unions or mortgage-related entities as either the seller or buyer, including Eastern Bank, Bank of America NA, First American Mortgage Solutions LLC, Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., Finance of America Reverse LLC, Shrewsbury Federal Credit Union, Traders Trust Co. and BrightBridge Credit Union. That is eight of 14 transfers touching a financial institution as a party, which suggests a notable share of this period's recorded deeds stem from foreclosure, loan-related or bank-owned property conveyances rather than conventional buyer-seller sales. Property type (single-family, condominium or multi-family) was not specified in the deed data and is omitted here. No square footage or price-per-square-foot figures were available for any of the 14 transfers, so no price-per-square-foot comparison can be made this period.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 31 | 8 Colton Ln | Mclaren Michael Tr.; Mclaren Stephen J Tr. | Oleary Patrick; Oleary Michelle | $700,000 |
| Jul 31 | 542 Lake St Unit A | Lake St Unit A; Eastern Bank | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 30 Lake St | Bank Of America Na; First American Mortgage Solutions LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | (no address) | Ward Dale B | Ward Dale B Tr.; Golden Hill Trust | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 47 Orchard Meadow Dr | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Finance Of America Reverse LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 278 Oak St | Koppu Satyam R Tr.; Koppu Satyam R | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 474 Oak St | Shrewsbury Federal Credit Union; Anderson Bruce E | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 51 Reed St | Albin Melissa; Albin Jeffrey | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 51 Reed Rd | Albin Kurt J; Albin Christine | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 17 Shirley Rd | Traders Trust Co; Oslowski Gina M | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 9 Golden Hill | Ward Dale B Tr.; Ward Dale B | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 23 Kenilworth Rd | Brightbridge Credit Union; Stevens Robert C Jr. | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 21 Stonybrook Ln | Lombard Angela M Tr.; Lombard Ronald L Jr. Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 21 Stoneybrook Ln | Lombard Ronald L Jr. Tr.; Lombard Angela M Tr. | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.
Share this story
Know someone in Worcester County who follows town government? Share Townbrief Worcester County: they can sign up free.