Athol Home Sale Prices Range From $70,000 To $210,000 In July
Worcester County Registry of Deeds recorded 14 Athol property transfers between July 3 and Aug. 1, but only three listed a sale price, ranging from $70,000 to $210,000 with a median of $150,000. The month's top disclosed sale was a $210,000 condo unit at 742 Daniel Shays Hwy, one of thr…
ATHOL -- Worcester County Registry of Deeds records show 14 property transfers in Athol between July 3 and Aug. 1, but only three deeds disclosed a sale price, ranging from $70,000 to $210,000.
MARKET OVERVIEW
Fourteen deeds were recorded in Athol during the four-week period. Of those, three carried a disclosed consideration amount, with prices ranging from $70,000 to $210,000 and a median of $150,000. The remaining 11 deeds, nearly 80% of the month's recorded transfers, listed no sale price, which is common for bank-related transfers, mortgage assignments, and trust or estate transfers. Because disclosed pricing covers only three of 14 transactions, the raw count of 14 recorded deeds is the most reliable measure of activity for the period; the price range and median should be read as reflecting only those three sales, not the market as a whole.
TOP SALES
The highest-priced disclosed sale was 742 Daniel Shays Hwy Unit 1F, which sold for $210,000 on July 7. The deed lists sellers Miguel Corzo and Olga Rodriguez, with Mortgage Research Center LLC and Veterans United Home Loans listed as buyers.
A property recorded simply as located in Athol sold for $150,000 on July 7, with Maria Seifer listed as seller and Citizens Bank NA as buyer. No street address was included in the deed record.
The third disclosed sale was 3835 Chestnut Hill Ave, which sold for $70,000 on July 6. Sellers David L. Gondela and Rosemarie J. Gondela transferred the property to Workers Federal Credit Union.
The other 11 recorded transfers in the period did not include a disclosed sale price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Daniel Shays Highway saw the most recorded activity of any street, with three separate deeds at 742 Daniel Shays Hwy in July: the $210,000 Unit 1F sale, a transfer involving Michael Patrick Hartnett and Emily Jean Hartnett with no disclosed price, and a transfer of a "Unit FI" listing the Shays Park Condominium Trust, also with no disclosed price. The condominium trust reference suggests these transactions are tied to the same building complex.
Chestnut Hill Avenue also had two recorded transfers: 280 Chestnut Hill Ave, sold to Tiffany L. Wilder with no disclosed price, and 3835 Chestnut Hill Ave, the $70,000 sale to Workers Federal Credit Union.
The remaining nine deeds were spread across nine separate streets, Batchelder Road, Grove Street, South Main Street, Ward Street, Castle Avenue, Marshall Street, Riverview Avenue and Harvard Avenue, each with a single recorded transfer and no shared street pattern.
MARKET NOTES
Only three of the 14 deeds recorded in Athol this period, about 21%, disclosed a sale price, limiting what can be concluded about overall price levels. Bed, bath and square-footage figures were not available in any of the deed records, so no price-per-square-foot comparisons could be made.
Buyers named across the 14 deeds included individual homebuyers as well as financial institutions: Mortgage Research Center LLC and Veterans United Home Loans, Citizens Bank NA, Freedom Mortgage Corp, and Workers Federal Credit Union. One deed, for 60 Castle Ave, lists Tesla Inc as buyer, with Felicia M. Hutchinson and Robert Brown as sellers; no price was disclosed.
Several transfers involved trusts or estates rather than a conventional buyer-seller sale: the Shays Park Condominium Trust (742 Daniel Shays Hwy Unit FI), the Ernest C. Gerbasi Trust with Ernest C. Gerbasi listed as trustee (168 Marshall St), and the estate of Donald E. Mruk (201 South Main St). A deed for 221 Harvard Ave listed Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc and Northern Mortgage Services LLC as sellers, consistent with a mortgage-related filing rather than a traditional home sale. None of these records included a disclosed sale price, and the deed data does not indicate the reason for any of these transfers.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
Jun 29 - Jul 5
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-07-03 | 268 RIVERVIEW AVE, Athol | FOSTER HARRY E SR; FOSTER MARY A | Not disclosed | |
| 2026-07-03 | 221 HARVARD AVE, Athol | MORTGAGE ELECTRONIC REGISTRATION SYSTEMS INC; NORTHERN MORTGAGE SERVICES LLC | Not disclosed |
Jul 6 - Jul 12
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-07-06 | 3835 CHESTNUT HILL AVE, Athol | GONDELA DAVID L; GONDELA ROSEMARIE J | WORKERS FEDERAL CREDIT UNION | $70,000 |
| 2026-07-06 | 201 SOUTH MAIN ST, Athol | MRUK DONALD E EST | Not disclosed | |
| 2026-07-06 | 46 WARD ST, Athol | BROWN MARIA L | Not disclosed | |
| 2026-07-06 | 60 CASTLE AVE, Athol | HUTCHINSON FELICIA M; BROWN ROBERT | TESLA INC | Not disclosed |
| 2026-07-06 | 168 MARSHALL ST, Athol | ERNEST C GERBASI TRUST; GERBASI ERNEST C TR | Not disclosed | |
| 2026-07-07 | 742 DANIEL SHAYS HWY UNIT 1F, Athol | CORZO MIGUEL; RODRIGUEZ OLGA | MORTGAGE RESEARCH CENTER LLC; VETERANS UNITED HOME LOANS | $210,000 |
| 2026-07-07 | Athol | SEIFER MARIA | CITIZENS BANK NA | $150,000 |
| 2026-07-07 | 280 CHESTNUT HILL AVE, Athol | WILDER TIFFANY L | Not disclosed | |
| 2026-07-07 | 553 BATCHELDER RD, Athol | ATHOL CREDIT UNION; OHARA COLIN P | Not disclosed | |
| 2026-07-07 | 127 GROVE ST, Athol | WELLS FARGO BANK NA | FREEDOM MORTGAGE CORP | Not disclosed |
| 2026-07-07 | 742 DANIEL SHAYS HY, Athol | HARTNETT MICHAEL PATRICK; HARTNETT EMILY JEAN | Not disclosed | |
| 2026-07-07 | 742 DANIEL SHAYS HWY UNIT FI, Athol | DANIEL SHAYS HWY UNIT FI; SHAYS PARK CONDOMINIUM TRUST | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.
Share this story
Know someone in Worcester County who follows town government? Share Townbrief Worcester County: they can sign up free.