Sturbridge Deed Data Shows Wide Price Gap Between Two Disclosed Sales
Sturbridge recorded 13 property transfers between July 24 and August 22, but only two carried a disclosed sale price: $100,000 for 207 Main St. and $437,525 for a property listed only as Sturbridge, MA. The median of the two disclosed prices was $268,762. Main Street and Hamilton Road e…
STURBRIDGE -- Only two of the 13 property transfers recorded in Sturbridge between July 24 and August 22 carried a disclosed sale price, according to Worcester County Registry of Deeds records, leaving most of the period's real estate activity without dollar figures attached to it.
MARKET OVERVIEW
Thirteen deeds were recorded in Sturbridge during the period. Of those, two included a disclosed consideration amount, ranging from $100,000 to $437,525, with a median of $268,762. The remaining 11 transfers were recorded without a stated sale price, which the registry does not require in every case. Because disclosed pricing covers only two of the 13 transactions, the price range and median reflect a small sample and may not represent the broader month's market. Judged by raw transaction count alone, 13 recorded transfers is a normal volume for a single month in a small town, though the data does not include prior-month or year-ago figures for comparison.
TOP SALES
The month's highest disclosed sale was recorded at $437,525 on July 28. The deed record lists the address only as Sturbridge, MA, without a specific street address. The sellers were Mohamad N. Hashem and Marcia A. Hashem; the buyers were listed as Imperium Lending LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc.
The second disclosed sale, at 207 Main St., closed at $100,000 on July 24. The seller was Kevin D. Doucette; the buyer was Bank of America NA.
The remaining 11 recorded transfers, at 17 Forest Ln., 110 Wallace Rd., 10 Main St., 44 Hamilton Rd., 37 Woodlawn Dr., 93 Gay Rd., 136 Lake Rd., 59 Clark Rd., 2 North Sturbridge Rd., 42 Hamilton Rd. and 31 Woodside Cir., were recorded without a disclosed price, so they cannot be ranked among the top sales by value.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Two street names appear more than once in the month's filings. Main Street had two recorded transfers, at 10 Main St. on July 29 and 207 Main St. on July 24, the latter being the only one of the pair with a disclosed price. Hamilton Road also had two recorded transfers, at 44 Hamilton Rd. on July 29 and 42 Hamilton Rd. on July 24; neither carried a disclosed price. The remaining nine addresses, Forest Lane, Wallace Road, Woodlawn Drive, Gay Road, Lake Road, Clark Road, North Sturbridge Road and Woodside Circle, each had a single recorded transfer during the period.
MARKET NOTES
Bank, mortgage or loan-servicing entities appear as grantor or grantee in eight of the 13 recorded transfers: Santander Bank NA, BankHometown, Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc, LoanDepot.com LLC, Rocket Mortgage LLC, Guild Mortgage Co LLC, Bank of America NA and Cornerstone Bank all appear in the deed records for this period, either transferring or receiving a property interest. Two of the month's transfers were recorded between related parties under a trust structure: the Sarah Foster Revocable Trust conveyed 42 Hamilton Rd. to Sarah Magie Foster as trustee on July 24, and Joseph R. Zwiebel, as trustee, conveyed 31 Woodside Cir. to Rakefet Zwiebel, as trustee, the same day. The deed data provided does not include bed, bath or square footage figures for any property in this period, so no price-per-square-foot comparison or property-type breakdown by single-family, condominium or multi-family status is possible from this data set.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 24 | 207 Main St | Doucette Kevin D | Bank Of America Na | $100,000 |
| Jul 24 | 2 North Sturbridge Rd | Thomas Carol L; Cornerstone Bank | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 24 | 42 Hamilton Rd | Sarah Foster Revocable Trust; Foster Sarah Magie Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 24 | 31 Woodside Cir | Zwiebel Joseph R Tr.; Zwiebel Rakefet Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 27 | 136 Lake Rd | Gran Bruce; Litchfield Beverly | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 27 | 59 Clark Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Rocket Mortgage LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 28 | (no address) | Hashem Mohamad N; Hashem Marcia A | Imperium Lending LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $437,525 |
| Jul 28 | 37 Woodlawn Dr | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Guild Mortgage Co LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 28 | 93 Gay Rd | Mcneely Douglas L; Abrams Janet M | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 29 | 17 Forest Ln | Santander Bank Na; Bourget Deborah W | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 29 | 110 Wallace Rd | Santander Bank Na; Solomon Jeanne R | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 29 | 10 Main St | Bankhometown; Ocala Realty Series LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 29 | 44 Hamilton Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Loandepotcom LLC | Rocket Mortgage LLC | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.
Share this story
Know someone in Worcester County who follows town government? Share Townbrief Worcester County: they can sign up free.