Sale Price Data Scarce As Nine Properties Change Hands In Barre
Nine property transfers were recorded in Barre between July 10 and Aug. 8, but only one deed disclosed a sale price: $61,400 for 1126 Old Hardwick Road, sold to Operative Bank. That figure stands as both the range and the median for the period, since no other transaction included pricin…
BARRE -- Nine property transfers were recorded in Barre between July 10 and Aug. 8, but only one deed listed a sale price, limiting what the record shows about current property values in town.
MARKET OVERVIEW Nine sales were recorded during the four-week period. Of those, one disclosed a sale price: $61,400. Because only one of nine transactions included a price, that figure also serves as both the low and high end of the disclosed range and as the median. Based on the raw count alone, nine recorded transfers over four weeks indicates continued transaction activity in Barre, though the near-total absence of disclosed prices means the data does not support a broader read on where property values stand.
TOP SALES The only transaction with a disclosed price was 1126 Old Hardwick Road, which sold for $61,400 on July 14. The sellers were listed as Anne Magill and Anne Diaz; the buyer was Operative Bank. Bed, bath and square footage figures were not available in the deed record.
The remaining eight transactions did not include a sale price and cannot be ranked by value: - Barre, MA (no street address given), sold July 15; seller Tanner G. Purcell. - 23 Hancock Road, sold July 15; sellers Traders Trust Co. and T Bank. - 812 Wauwinet Road, sold July 15; seller Kathleen S. Fritscher, trustee of the Kathleen S. Fritscher Revocable Trust. - 34 Nourse Lane, sold July 14; seller Elizabeth R. Lamb. - 277 West Street, sold July 14; sellers Salem Five Mortgage Co. LLC and Salem Five Cents Savings Bank. - 40 Jackson Lane, sold July 13; sellers James Sabourin and Michelle Sabourin. - 365 Oakham Road, sold July 13; sellers Danielle J. Leger and Brent M. Leger. - 66 Mechanic Street, sold July 10; sellers listed as Barre Town Treasurer and David J. Williams.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN No two sales in this period shared a street name, so no street-level cluster emerged. The nine transactions were spread across Hancock Road, Wauwinet Road, Old Hardwick Road, Nourse Lane, West Street, Jackson Lane, Oakham Road and Mechanic Street, plus one entry with no street address recorded. With only one disclosed price in the dataset, sales cannot be meaningfully grouped into price tiers this period.
MARKET NOTES Several of the recorded transfers involved financial institutions, trusts or municipal entities as a grantor or grantee rather than a straightforward individual-to-individual sale. Traders Trust Co. and T Bank appear as sellers on the Hancock Road deed; Salem Five Mortgage Co. LLC and Salem Five Cents Savings Bank appear as sellers on the West Street deed; the Kathleen S. Fritscher Revocable Trust appears as seller on the Wauwinet Road deed; and Operative Bank appears as buyer on the Old Hardwick Road deed, the period's only disclosed sale. The Barre Town Treasurer is also listed among the sellers on the Mechanic Street deed. The deed data does not indicate the reason for these transfers, and none should be inferred. No bed, bath, square footage or property-type information was available in any of the nine records, so no price-per-square-foot or property-type comparisons can be made this period.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 10 | 66 Mechanic St | Barre Town Treasurer; Williams David J | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 13 | 40 Jackson Ln | Sabourin James; Sabourin Michelle | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 13 | 365 Oakham Rd | Leger Danielle J; Leger Brent M | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 14 | 1126 Old Hardwick Rd | Magill Anne; Diaz Anne | Operative Bank | $61,400 |
| Jul 14 | 34 Nourse Ln | Lamb Elizabeth R | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 14 | 277 West St | Salem Five Mortgage Co LLC; Salem Five Cents Savings Bank | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 15 | (no address) | Purcell Tanner G | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 15 | 23 Hancock Rd | Traders Trust Co; T Bank | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 15 | 812 Wauwinet Rd | Fritscher Kathleen S Tr.; Kathleen S Fritscher Revocable Trust | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.
Share this story
Know someone in Worcester County who follows town government? Share Townbrief Worcester County: they can sign up free.