Sign in Subscribe

Single disclosed sale sets Brookfield's only price benchmark for the month

BROOKFIELD -- Ten property transfers were recorded in Brookfield over the past month, but only one carried a disclosed sale price, according to Worcester County Registry of Deeds records, limiting what can be said about the town's overall price trends this period.

MARKET OVERVIEW Ten sales were recorded between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12. Of those, only one, the Aug. 27 transfer of 9 Green St., listed a sale price: $401,906. Because only one of 10 transactions disclosed a price, the recorded range and median are both $401,906, a single data point rather than a market-wide figure. The registry does not require consideration amounts to be listed on every deed, and nine of the 10 filings this period fall into that category. With price data available for just one in 10 sales, the raw count alone does not support characterizing the period as active or quiet; it simply reflects that 10 deeds were recorded in the four-week window.

TOP SALES 9 Green St. is the only transaction with a disclosed price: $401,906, recorded Aug. 27. The deed lists Thomas Harrington as seller and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. and Nations Lending Corp. as buyer. No bed, bath or square-footage data was available in the deed record. The remaining nine sales, at Brookfield (no street address given), 7 Schoolhouse Cross Rd., 81 Webber Rd., 139 Town Farm Rd., 158 Rice Corner Rd., 111 Town Farm Rd., 87 Allen Rd., 90 Long Hill Rd. and 42 Allen Rd., did not include a disclosed consideration amount, so they cannot be ranked by price.

NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Two streets had more than one recorded transfer this period. Town Farm Road saw two sales: 139 Town Farm Rd. (Aug. 24, seller John H. Gordon Jr. and Deborah E. Gordon, price not disclosed) and 111 Town Farm Rd. (Aug. 19, seller Patricia Lynn Wadden and Patricia L. Wadden, price not disclosed). Allen Road also saw two: 87 Allen Rd. (Aug. 19, seller Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., buyer PennyMac Loan Services LLC, price not disclosed) and 42 Allen Rd. (Aug. 17, seller North Brookfield Savings Bank, buyer Leonard Farr, price not disclosed). The remaining six transactions were single, scattered sales on Green Street, Schoolhouse Cross Road, Webber Road, Rice Corner Road, Long Hill Road and an unspecified Brookfield address, with no further street-level pattern evident in the data.

MARKET NOTES A majority of this period's recorded transfers, six of 10, involved a bank, mortgage servicer or Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. as either grantor or grantee: BayCoast Bank, Cornerstone Bank and North Brookfield Savings Bank each appear as sellers, while MERS appears as a party in three separate filings alongside Nations Lending Corp., PennyMac Loan Services LLC, Nationstar Mortgage LLC and Rocket Mortgage LLC. That is a notably higher share of lender-involved transfers than owner-to-owner sales in this dataset. Separately, four of the 10 filings, at 7 Schoolhouse Cross Rd., 81 Webber Rd., 139 Town Farm Rd. and 111 Town Farm Rd., list matching or near-matching surnames between the parties named in the seller field, consistent with within-family or trust transfers; the deed data does not indicate motivation, and none of the four discloses a price. No condominium or multi-family designations appeared in this dataset, and no square-footage or bedroom/bathroom data was available for any of the 10 properties, so no price-per-square-foot comparison could be made. Given that nine of 10 sales lacked disclosed prices, broader conclusions about Brookfield's price direction this period are not supported by the available data.


Recorded Deeds

Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.

Aug 17 - Aug 23
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 1790 Long Hill RdMortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Nationstar Mortgage LLCRocket Mortgage LLCNot disclosed
Aug 1742 Allen RdNorth Brookfield Savings Bank; Farr LeonardNot disclosed
Aug 19111 Town Farm RdWadden Patricia Lynn; Wadden Patricia LNot disclosed
Aug 1987 Allen RdMortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Pennymac Loan Services LLCNot disclosed
Aug 21158 Rice Corner RdCornerstone Bank; Dubeau Hollie SNot disclosed
Aug 24 - Aug 30
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 24139 Town Farm RdGordon John H Jr.; Gordon Deborah ENot disclosed
Aug 279 Green StHarrington ThomasMortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Nations Lending Corp$401,906
Aug 2781 Webber RdPalleria Jenny Lee; Palleria William ANot disclosed
Aug 31 - Sep 6
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Sep 17 Schoolhouse Cross RdGemme Family Living Trust; Gemme Paul R Tr.Not disclosed
Sep 2(no address)Baycoast Bank; Zahr Abigail ENot disclosed

Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.

Subscribe to Worcester County News

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe