Royalston August Sales Span $30,000 To $160,000 Amid Few Disclosed Prices
ROYALSTON -- Ten properties changed hands in Royalston between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, according to Worcester County Registry of Deeds records, but a sale price was disclosed in only two of the ten transactions.
MARKET OVERVIEW The registry recorded 10 property transfers in Royalston during the period. Of those, two deeds included a disclosed sale price: $30,000 and $160,000, a range of $130,000. The median of the two disclosed prices is $95,000. Eight of the 10 recorded deeds, or 80%, did not disclose a sale price, which is common for certain deed types and limits how much can be said about overall market value this period. Taken purely as a count, 10 recorded transfers within a four-week span indicates a measurable level of ownership turnover in town, though the scarcity of price data means that level of activity cannot be characterized as active or quiet in dollar terms.
TOP SALES 7 New Boston Road sold for $160,000 on Aug. 25. Zachary H. Hastbacka was the seller and GFA Federal Credit Union was the buyer. 21 River Road sold for $30,000 on Aug. 21. Brad Barrett was the seller and Roseanne M. Flint was the buyer. The remaining eight transactions recorded in the period, at 9 King Street, 167 Warwick Road, 29 No. Fitzwilliam Road, 29 North Fitzwilliam Road, 12 Main Street, 0 Birch Hill Dam Road, 23 On The Common and one property listed only as Royalston, MA, did not include a disclosed sale price and cannot be ranked among the period's highest-priced sales.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Two separate deeds were recorded on Aug. 28 involving the same general address on Fitzwilliam Road: one listed as 29 No. Fitzwilliam Road, with Gordon J. Morrison as seller, and one listed as 29 North Fitzwilliam Road, with Brendan Sandefur as seller. The registry data does not indicate whether these refer to the same parcel. All other recorded transactions occurred at distinct addresses: 9 King Street, 167 Warwick Road, 12 Main Street, 0 Birch Hill Dam Road, 7 New Boston Road, 21 River Road, 23 On The Common, and one entry listed without a street address. Of the two sales with disclosed prices, both fell under $500,000: $160,000 for 7 New Boston Road and $30,000 for 21 River Road. No disclosed-price sales in the $500,000-to-$1 million range or above $1 million were recorded this period.
MARKET NOTES Two of the 10 transactions involved a municipal entity as a seller: 167 Warwick Road, sold by Royalston Town and Crystal M. Butterworth, and 0 Birch Hill Dam Road, sold by Royalston Town Conservation and Louise Gava. One deed, dated Sept. 1, listed sellers Jeffrey B. Smith and Susan B. Smith and buyer Jennifer L. Janowicz without a specific street address. Beds, baths and square footage are not available from deed records for any of the 10 transactions, and property type (single-family, condominium or multi-family) was not specified in the data, so no price-per-square-foot or property-type patterns can be reported for this period.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 21 | 21 River Rd | Barrett Brad | Flint Roseanne M | $30,000 |
| Aug 21 | 23 On The Common | Simpson David G | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 25 | 7 New Boston Rd | Hastbacka Zachary H | Gfa Federal Credit Union | $160,000 |
| Aug 26 | 12 Main St | Knox Jessica; Gibbons Melody A | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 26 | 0 Birch Hill Dam Rd | Royalston Town Conservation; Gava Louise | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 28 | 29 No Fitzwilliam Rd | Morrison Gordon J | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 28 | 29 North Fitzwilliam Rd | Sandefur Brendan | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 31 | 167 Warwick Rd | Royalston Town; Butterworth Crystal M | Not disclosed | |
| Sep 1 | (no address) | Smith Jeffrey B; Smith Susan B | Janowicz Jennifer L | Not disclosed |
| Sep 1 | 9 King St | Harding Nathaniel B | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.