Upton's Two Disclosed Sales Span $50,000 to $1.2 Million in August
UPTON -- Eleven property deeds were recorded in Upton between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5, according to Worcester County Registry of Deeds records, but only two of those transactions disclosed a sale price, limiting what can be said about the town's overall price trend for the period.
MARKET OVERVIEW The registry recorded 11 deed transfers in Upton during the period. Of those, only two included a disclosed consideration amount: $50,000 and $1,200,000. That two-sale range produces a midpoint of $625,000, but because nine of the 11 recorded deeds did not report a price, that figure should not be read as a market-wide median; it reflects only the two disclosed transactions. The raw count of 11 recorded deeds, on its own, does not indicate whether the period was more or less active than usual, since no comparative data for prior months was provided.
TOP SALES The highest-priced transaction on record was a $1,200,000 sale that closed Aug. 13, with sellers Aaron H. Gorius and Susan H. Gorius and buyers Paul E. Sullivan III and Margaret Sullivan. A separate deed recorded the same day, Aug. 13, for 27 West River St. listed the same sellers, Aaron H. and Susan H. Gorius, but did not disclose a price or a buyer. The only other transaction with a disclosed price was a $50,000 sale at 18 Warren Rd. that closed Aug. 10, with sellers Julie Chassie and Cameron Herbert Chassie and buyer Unibank For Savings. The remaining nine deeds recorded in the period, covering properties on Howarth Drive, Mendon Street, Williams Street, Stearns Road, Brooks Street, Grove Street, Plain Street and Plumbley Road, did not include a disclosed sale price and therefore cannot be ranked among the period's top sales by price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN No single street accounted for more than one clearly distinct sale in this dataset, with one exception: the Aug. 13 transactions involving sellers Aaron H. and Susan H. Gorius, one listed generally as Upton and one specifically as 27 West River St., share the same sellers and closing date, suggesting they may relate to the same underlying transaction or an adjoining parcel. Beyond that pairing, sales were spread across nine other streets: Warren Road, Howarth Drive, Mendon Street, Williams Street, Stearns Road, Brooks Street, Grove Street, Plain Street and Plumbley Road, each with a single recorded deed. By price tier, the data shows one sale under $500,000 ($50,000 at 18 Warren Rd.) and one sale over $1 million ($1,200,000 tied to the Gorius sellers). The remaining nine sales cannot be placed into a price tier because no consideration amount was disclosed.
MARKET NOTES Financial and mortgage-related entities appear as a seller or buyer in several of the 11 recorded deeds. Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. is listed as a seller on the deeds for 11 Howarth Dr. and 337 Mendon St., alongside Guaranteed Rate Inc. and Fairway Independent Mortgage Corp., respectively. The 18 Warren Rd. deed lists Unibank For Savings as the buyer, and the 28 Grove St. deed lists Wells Fargo Bank NA as seller and Freedom Mortgage Corp. as buyer. In total, four of the 11 recorded deeds involve a bank, mortgage servicer or mortgage-registration entity as a party, a pattern distinct from the more typical individual-seller-to-individual-buyer transactions seen elsewhere in the dataset, such as the sales involving the Joseph, Irwin and Desjardins families. One deed, for 14 Plumbley Rd., lists seller Daniel White alongside "Upton Town Appeals" but does not disclose a buyer or price. No bedroom, bathroom or square-footage data was available for any property in this dataset, and no price-per-square-foot comparisons could be calculated as a result. Property type, such as single-family versus condominium or multi-family, was also not specified in the available records.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 7 | 28 Grove St | Wells Fargo Bank Na | Freedom Mortgage Corp | Not disclosed |
| Aug 7 | 57 Plain St | Shults Connor | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 7 | 14 Plumbley Rd | White Daniel; Upton Town Appeals | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 18 Warren Rd | Chassie Julie; Chassie Cameron Herbert | Unibank For Savings | $50,000 |
| Aug 10 | 337 Mendon St | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Fairway Independent Mortgage Corp | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 10 | 53 Williams St | Joseph Christopher; Joseph Kristin D | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 10 | 8 Stearns Rd | Irwin Daniel; Irwin Samira Rostam | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 10 | 36 Brooks St | Desjardins Donna J; Desjardins Richard | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 11 | 11 Howarth Dr | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Guaranteed Rate Inc | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 13 | (no address) | Gorius Aaron H; Gorius Susan H | Sullivan Paul E III; Sullivan Margaret | $1,200,000 |
| Aug 13 | 27 West River St | Gorius Aaron H; Gorius Susan H | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.