Hopedale deed prices mostly undisclosed despite steady transfer volume
HOPEDALE -- Eleven property transfers were recorded in Hopedale between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5, but only one deed disclosed a sale price, limiting what conclusions can be drawn about the local market this period.
MARKET OVERVIEW Eleven sales were recorded during the period. Of those, only one disclosed a sale price: $285,000. Because sale prices are missing from 10 of the 11 recorded deeds, a meaningful price range or median cannot be calculated for the period as a whole. The one disclosed price is neither a range nor a median; it is the only price on record. The volume of 11 recorded deeds in a single month is notable, but several of these transfers involve banks, mortgage servicers, or federal credit unions as sellers or buyers, patterns often associated with foreclosure-related or lender-to-lender transactions rather than typical owner-to-owner home sales.
TOP SALES The only transaction with a disclosed price was recorded Aug. 14: a $285,000 sale in Hopedale involving sellers Emilee Purdy and Sean Bender and buyers Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. and New American Funding LLC. No address was specified for this transfer in the deed data. No other sales in this period disclosed a price, so no additional entries can be ranked by sale price. The remaining 10 transactions, all price not disclosed, involved: 171 South Main St. (seller Newrez LLC and Shellpoint Mortgage Servicing); 9 Gannett Way (sellers Kenneth P. Black and Patricia A. Black); 211 Mendon St. (seller Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. and Pentagon Federal Credit Union); 25 Warfield St. (sellers U.S. Bank NA and James M. Labreche); and 8 Warfield St. (sellers Marco Perez and Paula E. Polanco, buyer Tesla Inc.).
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Gannett Way had two recorded transfers: 9 Gannett Way (Aug. 14, seller Kenneth P. Black and Patricia A. Black) and 17 Gannett Way (Aug. 7, seller David Perry). Warfield Street also had two recorded transfers: 25 Warfield St. (Aug. 12, seller U.S. Bank NA and James M. Labreche) and 8 Warfield St. (Aug. 12, seller Marco Perez and Paula E. Polanco, buyer Tesla Inc.). The remaining seven transfers were spread across individual streets: South Main Street, Mendon Street, Haven Way, Hill Street, Hopedale Street and Driftway, each with one recorded deed. Since 10 of 11 transfers lack a disclosed price, transactions cannot be grouped into price tiers.
MARKET NOTES Several sellers or buyers named in this period's deeds are banks, mortgage servicers, or credit unions, including Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. (two transactions), U.S. Bank NA, Citizens Bank NA, Bank of America NA, Newrez LLC, Shellpoint Mortgage Servicing, Homefield Credit Union, and Pentagon Federal Credit Union. This pattern appears in roughly half of the period's recorded deeds. One buyer listed, Tesla Inc., is a nonbank entity acquiring the 8 Warfield St. property. No bed, bath, or square-footage data was available in the deed records for any transaction, so no price-per-square-foot comparisons can be made. Because sale prices were disclosed in only one of 11 transactions, this report cannot characterize the period as active or quiet in price terms, only in transaction count.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 7 | 29 Hopedale St | Bank Of America Na; First American Mortgage Solutions LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 7 | 14 Driftway | Colecchi Nikki Jean | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 7 | 17 Gannett Way | Perry David | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 1 Haven Way | Citizens Bank Na; Gibler Vernon Udel | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 10 | 55 Hill St | Morgan Kerry; Homefield Credit Union | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 12 | 25 Warfield St | U S Bank Na; Labreche James M | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 12 | 8 Warfield St | Perez Marco; Polanco Paula E | Tesla Inc | Not disclosed |
| Aug 13 | 211 Mendon St | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Pentagon Federal Credit Union | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | (no address) | Purdy Emilee; Bender Sean | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; New American Funding LLC | $285,000 |
| Aug 14 | 171 South Main St | Newrez LLC; Shellpoint Mortgage Servicing | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 9 Gannett Way | Black Kenneth P; Black Patricia A | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.