East Brookfield Home Prices Range Widely as Most August Sales Stay Undisclosed
EAST BROOKFIELD -- Thirteen property transfers were recorded in East Brookfield between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5, but only two of them disclosed a sale price, leaving most of the month's deed activity without a dollar figure attached. The sole reported sale price above $300,000 was on Howe Street, one of three transactions recorded on that street during the period.
MARKET OVERVIEW Thirteen deeds were recorded in East Brookfield during the period, but only two, 15% of the total, disclosed a sale price. Among those, prices ranged from $55,000 to $325,000, with a median of $190,000. With just two disclosed figures, that median reflects the midpoint between those two sales rather than a broad market trend. The raw count of 13 recorded deeds suggests a period of ordinary activity for a town of East Brookfield's size, though the high share of undisclosed prices, along with the presence of mortgage-servicing companies and the town treasurer as parties to several deeds, means the recorded data does not fully capture typical arm's-length home sales.
TOP SALES 355 Howe St. sold for $325,000 on Aug. 14. LaShaway Holdings LLC was the seller and Paul McSweeny the buyer. It was the only sale in the period to exceed $300,000.
151 Baker Hill Rd. sold for $55,000 on Aug. 19. Michael D. Blondin was the seller and Webster First Federal Credit Union the buyer.
The remaining 11 recorded transfers did not disclose a sale price, including deeds on Podunk Road, East Main Street, Howe Street, Allen Road, West Sturbridge Road, Blaine Avenue, Depot Square and Park Street, as well as one listing no specific street address.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Howe Street had the most recorded activity of any street, with three separate transfers: 355 Howe St. ($325,000, the period's only other disclosed price on the street was not available for the other two), 635 Howe St. and 101 Howe St., both price not disclosed. Podunk Road had two recorded transfers, at 301 Podunk Rd. and 630 Podunk Rd., both price not disclosed. No other street had more than one recorded transfer. Among the two disclosed sale prices, both fell under $500,000; there is not enough disclosed pricing data to break out additional tiers.
MARKET NOTES Property type, bed/bath counts and square footage are not available from deed records for this period. Five of the 13 recorded deeds involved mortgage-servicing or lending entities, Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., Fairway Independent Mortgage Corp., PennyMac Loan Services LLC, Rocket Mortgage LLC and Wells Fargo Bank NA, as a grantor or grantee, including one transfer to the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs on Howe Street. The East Brookfield town treasurer appeared as a seller in two transactions, at 306 West Sturbridge Rd. and 101 Depot Sq. Two transfers show the same family name on both the grantor and grantee sides: 294 East Main St., transferred from the estate of Richard White and Sharon Whitcomb to Sharon Whitcomb, and 109 Allen Rd., transferred from Adealine P. Bonneau to Adealine P. Bonneau and Dawn J. Anderson. Given that 11 of the 13 recorded deeds did not disclose a price, this month's data offers a limited basis for assessing typical home values in East Brookfield.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 7 | 101 Depot Sq | East Brookfield Town Treasurer; San Holdings LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 7 | 106 Park St | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Prestige Home Mortgage LLC | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 11 | 306 West Sturbridge Rd | East Brookfield Town Treasurer; Luong Thang T | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 11 | 118 Blaine Ave | Tesell Marilyn R; Naoum Elizabeth E | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 13 | (no address) | Cormier Andre J Jr.; Cormier Craig S | Brown Thomas L | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 355 Howe St | Lashaway Holdings LLC | Mcsweeny Paul | $325,000 |
| Aug 14 | 109 Allen Rd | Bonneau Adealine P | Bonneau Adealine P; Anderson Dawn J | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | 101 Howe St | Wells Fargo Bank Na; Blanchette Brian | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 18 | 635 Howe St | Rocket Mortgage LLC | Usa Veterans Affairs | Not disclosed |
| Aug 19 | 151 Baker Hill Rd | Blondin Michael D | Webster First Federal Credit Union | $55,000 |
| Aug 19 | 294 East Main St | White Richard Est; Whitcomb Sharon | Whitcomb Sharon | Not disclosed |
| Aug 20 | 630 Podunk Rd | Pennymac Loan Services LLC; Asselta John | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 21 | 301 Podunk Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Fairway Independent Mortgage Corp | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.